b'2019 VICTORIAN SPORT AWARDS The high point of the Victorian sporting calendar, the Victorian Sport Awards, hosted in partnership with theState Government of Victoria, was held on Wednesday,26 February 2020 at Marvel Stadium, Docklands.Bringing together many of the states premier athletes and grassroots heroes, the night saw 450 guests in attendance to honour the 19 award winners. Over 275 nominations were submitted for the Awards, judged on performances during the 2019 calendar year, with State Sporting Associationsand the broader sporting public taking part in the nomination process.Highlights of the night included the Outstanding Contribution to Victorian Sport Award presented posthumously to Peter Thomson AO CBE and accepted on his behalf by his wife, Mary and son, Andrew. For his three Grand Slam quad wheelchair singles titles, Dylan Alcott earned the Frank Wilkes award as Male Athlete of the Year while Lucy Stephan won the Kitty McEwan award as Female Athlete of the Year after claiming three international gold medals for Australia including one at the World Rowing Championships.Parliamentary Secretary for Sport, Danielle Green said:Congratulations to all the achievers recognised in the Victorian Sport Awards. The hard work and dedication of athletes, coaches, officials, administrators and volunteersat all levels of sport is truly outstanding.Were seeing growing numbers of girls and boys,women and men signing up to play sport at local clubs.Home-grown heroes play a big part in inspiring that growth.Andrew and Mary Thomson accept the VictorianThe Victorian Equestrian Interschools Team,Athena Babo (right) was presented herState Government Outstanding Contribution towinners of the View Melbourne Young Team Volunteer of the Year award by Hakeem al-Araibi.Victorian Sport award on behalf of Peter Thomson withof the Year award.Parliamentary Secretary of Sport Danielle Green (right).Tennis Victoria won the VicHealth Active RecreationGrant Cosgriff (right) from Triathlon Victoria wonVicsport staff and Dynamix Medias Bron Parry Initiative of the Year for Melbourne Tennis Month. the SportsTG Sports Administrator of the Year -(third from left).Eunice Gill Award.14'